Towers tops Trevor O’Neill tournament

Thursday, 21 June 2018

Towers tops Trevor O’Neill tournament thumbnailJoan O'Neill and Alfie O'Neill present the Trevor O'Neill Memorial Cup to Seven Towers team captain Trevor Clarke following the final against Aghanloo.

SEVEN Towers have won the 30th annual Trevor O'Neill Memorial Cup after an exciting Friday night battle against Aghanloo which thrilled spectators at The Showgrounds, Limavady.
It was The Towers who settled the quickest with some smart football and fast movement off the ball but the first real impact came from Aghanloo in the shape of Joe McCready as, in the 11th minute inside the left hand side of the box, a step over got McCready to the by line, only for Emmet Friars to see out the danger.
On the next attack up the pitch by Seven Towers, a great move by Richard Clarke gave Ryan Campbell the opportunity to shoot at goal, only for Aghanloo's Paul Wells to make a great save with his feet, but the ball landed at the feet of Aaron Arkinson and from 20 yards, he made no mistake to give The Towers a deserved lead.
This seemed to be a much-needed kick up the bottom for Aghanloo as, from the resulting kick off, there was a more decisive approach from Aghanloo which brought consecutive corners, only for Matthew Buchanan and Emmet Friars sniffing out the danger.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete